OutTalks

Photo: Brad Hamilton Photography

OutTalks is an ongoing webinar series hosted by OutRight staff and featuring LGBTIQ activists and allies from around the world. 

WEBINAR SCHEDULE

October 28

6AM PT
9AM ET
2PM CET

Queering Peace, Security and Humanitarian Response

Experiences of LGBTIQ People

20 years ago advocates from around the world pushed for the adoption of the Women, Peace and Security (WPS) agenda in the Security Council. Since that time stakeholders have made strides in bringing a gender analysis to conflict and humanitarian situations but more work needs to be done to ensure that the furthest left behind are represented within this framework. The webinar Queering Peace, Security and Humanitarian Response will delve into the ways the experiences of LGBTI persons are reflected within the WPS and humanitarian agenda and speak to how activists from around the world have brought a queer lens to their work in this field."

SPEAKERS: Ging Cristobal, Asia Project Coordinator; Nazeeha Saeed, Arabic Media Coordinator; Sahar Moazami, UN Program Officer; additional speakers forthcoming.

Register

November 11

9AM PT
12PM ET
6PM CET

What the US Election Means for Global LGBTIQ Activism

The Impact of the US Presidential Election on LGBTIQ and Human Rights Around the World



Whatever the outcome of the US Presidential election, human rights activists will have to quickly mobilize.  We’ll talk with experts on LGBTIQ rights, women’s rights, trans rights, Muslim rights, immigrant rights, and US foreign policy broadly.  We’ll address how the US presidential election outcome will impact the rule of law, political appointees, bilateral relations, domestic policies, and funding for these crucial issues that will determine the safety of LGBTIQ people in the US and all our allies around the world.

SPEAKER: Jessica Stern, Executive Director; additional speakers forthcoming.

Register

November 18

7AM PT
10AM ET
4PM CET

Gender Identity Recognition From A Caribbean Perspective

Join OutRight and special guests from the United Caribbean Trans Network in recognition of Trans Awareness Month as we explore gender identity recognition in the Caribbean region. This event is open to all, including those beyond the Caribbean Sea as we spotlight the state of trans organizing, the future of advocacy and the fight for gender identity recognition in the region. 

SPEAKER: Neish McLean, Caribbean Program Officer

Register

December

9-11 

7 AM PST  10 AM ET 3 PM GMT+1    

5 PM EET  6 PM EAT 10 PM HKT

 

#OutSummit2020 

An annual global OutRight International summit convening on Human Rights Day

OutSummit is a space to come together, to share insights and best practices, and to strategize across civil society, State and private sector boundaries for the human rights of LGBTIQ people. OutSummit is open to all - activists, scholars, diplomats, donors, journalists, students, institutional partners, and allies. Sessions will be held on December 9-11, beginning at 7 am California / 10 am NYC / 3 pm London / 5 pm Beirut / 6 pm Nairobi / 10 pm Hong Kong.

For more information: outsummit.org

Register

 

#OutTalks Webinar programming will resume in January 2021. Stay tuned!