Felipa De Souza Awardee

ricky nathanson

Rikki Nathanson is a fierce activist for the rights of trans and gender diverse persons, not only in her country but the region of Southern Africa, continentally and globally, Ricky was unlawfully and arrested for using a female restroom in 2014. After being acquitted, she took on the State of Zimbabwe with a civil suit. This act of bravery has proven to pose a risk to her life and has seen her fleeing her country of Zimbabwe and obtaining asylum in the United States of America.

In September 2015 she formed Trans* Research, Education, Advocacy & Training [TREAT], which seeks to address the rights issues in the education, advocacy and training about, and to, the basic violations of the human rights of the trans and gender diverse population of Zimbabwe in the areas of health, justice and the socio economy. TREAT is based in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. TREAT was subsequently registered as a Trust in early 2017.

OutSpoken Awardees

The OutSpoken Award recognizes a group or individual serving as an ally who contributes to advanced awareness and equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and/or queer (LGBTIQ) people.

Gaby Hoffmann, Trace Lysette, Alexandra Billings, and producer Zackary Drucker will be in attendance!

Since 2014, audiences have been transfixed by Amazon Prime Video’s Transparent, sharing the lives of the Pfeffermans as patriarch Mort Pfefferman reintroduces herself to her family as Maura, a transgender woman. Just as Maura’s new journey begins, ex-wife Shelly and their three adult children grapple with their own secrets, relationships, and identities as they too search for who they are and what they really want.

This groundbreaking, award-winning comedy has led with heart and humor while championing themes of love and acceptance for the LGBTQ community. Audiences have been waiting for more. Now, after four seasons, Amazon will give the Pfeffermans a spectacular sendoff in a final original musical production. The Transparent Musicale Finale will air in 2019. Created by Jill Soloway, with original music by Faith Soloway, the special features returning cast including Judith Light, Gaby Hoffman, Amy Landecker, Jay Duplass, Alexandra Billings, and Trace Lysette.

OutStanding Awardees

The OutStanding Award pays tribute to special individuals, companies, or organizations who have significantly advanced human rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and/or queer (LGBTIQ) people.

Photo courtesy Picasa

Beth A. Brooke-Marciniak is Global Vice Chair - Public Policy at EY and is a member of the firm’s Global Executive Board. Beth has public policy responsibility for the firm’s operations in more than 150 countries. In addition, she is the global sponsor for EY’s Diversity and Inclusiveness efforts. She has been named eleven times to the list of Forbes “World's 100 Most Powerful Women.” Beth received the Theodore Roosevelt Award, the top individual honor bestowed by the US National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). She has also been inducted into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Beth chairs the Board of Vital Voices and is a member of the Board of Directors of the United States Olympic Committee, The Conference Board, The Aspen Institute, Out Leadership and the Women’s Advisory Board of the World Economic Forum. She is a member of the inaugural class of the Henry Crown Fellows of The Aspen Institute, the Committee of 200, and the International Women’s Forum.

She has an undergraduate degree, with highest distinction, from Purdue University. Beth has received honorary doctorate degrees from Purdue, Indiana University, and Babson College. Beth is married to Michelle Marciniak, Co-Founder of SHEEX, and former WNBA player and national champion at the University of Tennessee.