Human Rights Awards

The Felipa de Souza Award

The Felipa de Souza Award recognizes the courage and activism of grassroots groups and individuals working for the fundamental human rights of all people. The Award embodies the spirit and story of Felipa de Souza who endured persecution and brutality after proudly declaring her intimacy with a woman during a 16th century inquisition trial in Brazil. Since 1994, OutRight has presented the award to inspiring and courageous advocates in the human rights movement to advance the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and/or queer (LGBTIQ) people.

Previous Felipa de Souza Honorees

  • 2018: Georges Azzi, Executive Director AFE
  • 2017: Caleb Orozco, LGBT/Human Rights advocate, health educator and activist
  • 2016: Arus Pelangi, National Federation of LGBTI Communities in Indonesia
  • 2015: Chesterfield Samba, Gays & Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ)
  • 2014: Joint Award: Gay Japan News, Japan; KRYSS, Malaysia; O, Pakistan; Rainbow Rights Project (R-Rights), Philippines; Women’s Support Group, Sri Lanka
  • 2013: Yasemin Öz, esq., Turkey
  • 2012: Karen Atala, Chile
  • 2011: Mongolian LGBT Centre, Mongolia
  • 2010: Colombia Diversa, Colombia
  • 2009: Helem, Turkey
  • 2008: Andrés Ignacio Rivera Duarte, Chile; Iranian Queer Organization, Canada
  • 2007: Blue Diamond Society, Nepal
  • 2006: Rauda Morcos, ASWAT, Palestinian Activist from Haifa, Israel
  • 2005: Gay and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ), Zimbabwe
  • 2004: The Gender/Sexuality Rights Association of Taiwan (G/STRAT), Taiwan
  • 2003: Lohana Berkins, Argentina
  • 2002: Elizabeth Calvet, Brazil (Honorary Posthumous Award); Marta Lucia Alvarez Giraldo, Marta Lucia Tamayo Rincon, and Alba Nelly Montoya, Colombia; Cui Zi En, China; Maher Sabry, Egypt
  • 2001: Companions on a Journey and Women’s Support Group, Sri Lanka; Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays, Jamaica; Luis Gauthier (1950-2000), Chile (honorary Posthumous Awards)
  • 2000: Dejan Nebrigic (1970-1999), Serbia (Honorary Posthumous Award); Ditshwanelo- The Botswana Center for Human Rights, Botswana; Intersex Society of North America (ISNA), USA; William Hernandez, El Salvador
  • 1999: Aung Myo Min, Burma; Prudence Mabele, South Africa; Kiri Kiri and Chingu Sai, Korea; Simon Nkoli (1957-1998), South Africa (Honorary Posthumous Award)
  • 1998: Circulo Cultural Gay (CCG), Mexico; Dr. Tal Jarus-Hakak, Israel; Dede Oetomo, Indonisia; Nancy Cardenas (1934-1994), Mexico (Honorary Posthumous Award) Carlos Jauregui (1958-1996), Argentina (Honorary Posthumous Award)
  • 1997: Demet Demir, Turkey; Genc Xhelaj, Albania; The Sister Namibia Collective, Namibia; Wilfredo Valencia Palacios, El Salvador (Honorable Mention)
  • 1995: The Tasmanian Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Group (TGLRG), Australia; Anjaree, Thailand; Luiz Mott, Brazil
  • 1994: Juan Pablo Ordonez, Colombia; ABIGALE, South Africa; Lepa Mladjenovic, Serbia

The OutSpoken Award

The OutSpoken Award recognizes a group or individual serving as an ally who contributes to advanced awareness and equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and/or queer (LGBTIQ) people.

Previous OutSpoken Honorees

  • 2018: Lois Whitman, founder of Children's Rights Division at Human Rights Watch, philanthropist
  • 2017: Leadership of LogoTV, division of Viacom, first LGBTIQ television channel and first television promotion of global LGBTIQ rights with its "global ally" programming
  • 2016: UN Free & Equal, Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, United Nations' social media and online platform to promote the global advance of equality

The OutStanding Award

The OutStanding Award pays tribute to special individuals, companies, or organizations who have significantly advanced human rights for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and/or queer (LGBTIQ) people.

Previous OutStanding Honorees

  • 2017: Blanche Wiesen Cook; author, professor
  • 2016: Randy Berry, First ever U.S. Special Envoy for the Human Rights of LGBTI People; Dan Bross, Senior Director of Corporate Citizenship at Microsoft
  • 2015: Juliana Huxtable, artist; Tim Stephenson, attorney at Kirkland & Ellis, LLP
  • 2014: Todd Larson, international LGBT Advocate and philanthropist
  • 2013: Dorothy Sander, philanthropist
  • 2012: Tammy Baldwin, politician and U.S. Senator (Wisconsin)
  • 2010: Barney Frank, politician and first openly gay U.S. Congressman (Massachusetts)
  • 2009: Microsoft, one of the first global companies to offer same-sex benefits in 1993
  • 2008: IBM, one of the first global companies to include sexual orientation in 1984
  • 2006: Andy Tobias, author, Treasurer of Democratic National Committee; Paul Albert, lawyer, activist, long-time OutRight supporter
  • 2005: Julie Dorf, founder of OutRight; Gara LaMarche, member of OutRight's Board of Directors, Open Society Foundation