Human Rights Awards 2014


Felipa de Souza AwardSpecial Recognition Award

The Felipa de Souza Award

The Felipa de Souza Award recognizes the courage and activism of grassroots groups and individuals working for the fundamental human rights of all people. The Award embodies the spirit and story of Felipa de Souza who endured persecution and brutality after proudly declaring her intimacy with a woman during a 16th century inquisition trial in Brazil. Since 1994, IGLHRC has presented the award to inspiring and courageous advocates in the human rights movement to advance the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people. This year's award goes to the following groups, for their partcipation in the groundbreaking report "VIOLENCE: Through the Lens of Lesbians, Bisexual Women and Transgender People in Asia".

Read Grace Poore's Remarks introducing the 2014 Felipa de Souza Honorees

KRYSS, Malaysia

"To be recognized internationally while still denied acknowledgment of our humanity at home helps us remember why our struggle must continue. The violence, the discrimination and our exclusion from society must not go unnoticed. We are thankful that the LGBTIQPA people of Malaysia and all of our friends and allies continue to stand in solidarity in our fight for our rights."

Women’s Support Group, Sri Lanka

"It is an honour for all of us at the Women’s Support Group to receive this year’s award, shared with four other organizations in the region. It gives us a platform, from local to global, to raise a voice against the violence and discrimination faced by LBT people in Sri Lanka."

Gay Japan News, Japan

"The Japan team was a big family with ten interviewers, five transcribers, and five translators. This award is recognition of the grassroots work we accomplished, celebration of the lives of our 50 LBT interviewees in Japan, and encouragement for us to keep fighting for changes towards the better future we want."

Rainbow Rights Project (R-Rights), Philippines

"We choose to celebrate the resilience and bravery of those who survived that share their stories as a legacy of justice to those who come after. We accept this award on the promise that one day, we will truly be equal and that the sacrifice of those whose stories we tell, will not be in vain."

O, Pakistan

"We have no doubt that many LBT individuals in Pakistan live their daily lives in fear. Where there is religious extremism and violence, there is also resistance, solidarity and community building among those directly affected. It is our hope that this research will contribute to changing that situation."

The Special Recognition Award

The Special Recognition Award is designed to pay tribute to special individuals, companies, and organizations whose contributions to advancing human rights regardless of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status have been particularly significant to IGLHRC and its work.

This year's award goes to Todd Larson for his courage in advocating for LGBT rights at the United Nations and his leadership on IGLHRC's Board of Directors.

Todd Larson

"Todd's courage and tireless dedication to advancing LGBT rights for UN staff is truly inspiring, as was his leadership in helping IGLHRC to achieve NGO consultative status at the UN. Those of us who follow in his footsteps owe him a great deal for opening up spaces and changing mindsets in the fight for equality within the UN system."
—Vivek Rai, Board Member and Special Assistant at UN Women

Previous Felipa de Souza Honorees

  • 2013: Yasemin Öz, esq., Turkey
  • 2012: Karen Atala, Chile
  • 2011: Mongolian LGBT Centre, Mongolia
  • 2010: Colombia Diversa, Colombia
  • 2009: Helem, Turkey
  • 2008: Andrés Ignacio Rivera Duarte, Chile; Iranian Queer Organization, Canada
  • 2007: Blue Diamond Society, Nepal
  • 2006: Rauda Morcos, ASWAT, Palestinian Activist from Haifa, Israel
  • 2005: Gay and Lesbians of Zimbabwe (GALZ), Zimbabwe
  • 2004: The Gender/Sexuality Rights Association of Taiwan (G/STRAT), Taiwan
  • 2003: Lohana Berkins, Argentina
  • 2002: Elizabeth Calvet, Brazil (Honorary Posthumous Award); Marta Lucia Alvarez Giraldo, Marta Lucia Tamayo Rincon, and Alba Nelly Montoya, Colombia; Cui Zi En, China; Maher Sabry, Egypt
  • 2001: Companions on a Journey and Women’s Support Group, Sri Lanka; Jamaica Forum for Lesbians, All-Sexuals and Gays, Jamaica; Luis Gauthier (1950-2000), Chile (honorary Posthumous Awards)
  • 2000: Dejan Nebrigic (1970-1999), Serbia (Honorary Posthumous Award); Ditshwanelo- The Botswana Center for Human Rights, Botswana; Intersex Society of North America (ISNA), USA; William Hernandez, El Salvador
  • 1999: Aung Myo Min, Burma; Prudence Mabele, South Africa; Kiri Kiri and Chingu Sai, Korea; Simon Nkoli (1957-1998), South Africa (Honorary Posthumous Award)
  • 1998: Circulo Cultural Gay (CCG), Mexico; Dr. Tal Jarus-Hakak, Israel; Dede Oetomo, Indonisia; Nancy Cardenas (1934-1994), Mexico (Honorary Posthumous Award) Carlos Jauregui (1958-1996), Argentina (Honorary Posthumous Award)
  • 1997: Demet Demir, Turkey; Genc Xhelaj, Albania; The Sister Namibia Collective, Namibia; Wilfredo Valencia Palacios, El Salvador (Honorable Mention)
  • 1996: No Presentation
  • 1995: The Tasmanian Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Group (TGLRG), Australia; Anjaree, Thailand; Luiz Mott, Brazil
  • 1994: Juan Pablo Ordonez, Colombia; ABIGALE, South Africa; Lepa Mladjenovic, Serbia

Previous Special Recognition Honorees

  • 2013: Dorothy Sander, Philanthropist
  • 2012: Tammy Baldwin, U.S. Representative from Wisconsin
  • 2010: Barney Frank, U.S. Representative from Massachusetts
  • 2009: Microsoft
  • 2008: IBM
  • 2006: Andy Tobias, Author, Treasurer of Democratic National Committee; Paul Albert, Lawyer, Activist, long-time supporter of IGLHRC
  • 2005: Julie Dorf, IGLHRC's Founder; Gara LaMarche, Member of the IGLHRC Board of Directors, Open Society Foundation;