OutTalks

 
 
OutTalks is an ongoing webinar series hosted by OutRight staff and featuring LGBTIQ activists and allies from around the world. 
 

2021 OutTalks Schedule

February schedule coming soon!

March 2

7 AM ET 4 AM PT

12 PM GMT

Exploring Gender Diversity in Indonesia's Bugis Culture

The Bugis people are one of the hundreds of ethnic groups that live in Eastern part of Indonesia in the island of Sulawesi. This webinar is aimed at looking closer at how indigenous community in Eastern part of Indonesia has been celebrating the diversity of gender and sexuality for hundreds of years. Looking at the unprecedented anti-gender movements in Indonesia, we are going to explore how the cultural richness of Bugis people is at risk and what can be done to preserve and respect these local queer identities in this globalising world. HOST/MODERATOR: Jessica Stern, Executive Director, OutRight Action International

SPEAKERS: Jonta Saragih and others to be announced

Register

March 10

8 AM EST 5 AM PT

4 PM EAT

Online gender based violence: LBQ perspective

This webinar will provide an opportunity to hear the experience of LBQ in exercising their freedom of expression in the digital space and discuss online safety strategies to mitigate violation. This will be specific to Africa.

SPEAKERS: Yvonne Wamari and others to be announced

Register

April 21

8 AM EST 5 AM PT

4 PM EAT

LGBTIQ and elections in Africa

This webinar will focus on political use of homophobia during the election period in Africa.

SPEAKERS: Yvonne Wamari and others to be announced

Register

April 28

12  PM ET 9 AM PT

5 PM GMT

LGBTIQ Inclusive Gender-Based Violence Legislation in the Caribbean

Join OutRight's Caribbean Advocacy Officer, Anika Gray, for a discussion of how to ensure inclusion of LGBTIQ persons in Gender Based Violence legislation.

SPEAKERS: Anika Gray and others to be announced

Register
More webinars will be announced soon! 

 

2020 OutTalks Recap

2020 OutTalks Playlist

In spring 2020, as the world scrambled to adjust to the reality of living and working under COVID-19 restrictions, OutRight launched the webinar series OutTalks to stay connected and engaged with, and shed light on the particular challenges facing the global LGBTIQ community. OutTalks have included topics like: Artivisim, impact of COVID on the LGBTIQ community around the world, domestic violence, gender identity and trans rights. Check out some of these webinars on the YouTube playlist.

Playlist 

8/26/2020

Spotlight on Lebanon: What is happening in Beirut after the explosion?

Moderated by: Nazeeha Saeed, Arabic Media Project Coordinator

Recording

8/27/2020

LGBTIQ Protections at the Frontline of Haiti's Presidential Decrees

Moderated by: Neish McLean, Former Caribbean Program Officer

Recording

9/30/2020

Art and Human Rights - Exploring artivism as a conversation starter

Moderated by: Yvonne Wamari, Africa Program Officer

Recording

10/14/2020

COVID-19 Update: Revisiting LGBTIQ Communities Six Months into the Pandemic

Moderated by: Amie Bishop, Senior Research Consultant

Recording

10/21/2020

Welcome to Chechnya Now, an update from Russian Activist Olga Baranova

Moderated by: Daina Rudusa, Communications Manager

Recording

10/28/2020

Queering Peace, Security and Humanitarian Response: Experiences of LGBTIQ People

Moderated by: Ging Cristobal, Asia Program Officer; Nazeeha Saeed, Arabic Media Project Coordinator; Sahar Moazami, UN Program Officer

Recording

11/11/2020

What the US Election Means for Global LGBTIQ Activism

Moderated by: Ging Cristobal, Asia Program Officer; Nazeeha Saeed, Arabic Media Project Coordinator; Sahar Moazami, UN Program Officer

Recording

11/18/2020

Gender Identity Recognition: A Caribbean Perspective

Moderated by: Neish McLean, Former Caribbean Program Officer

Recording

2020 OutSummit

On December 9-11 we had our 6th OutSummit and 1st virtual annual global summit for the human rights of LGBTIQ People. 

Recordings